Staff Meeting

CPFL MEMBERSHIP

Becoming A Member

The Collegiate Public Forum League requires that all schools routinely participating in CPFL competitions register as a Member School. Member Schools gain access to high quality training materials, resources for competition, and more. Member Schools are required to abide by CPFL Policies and Procedures, which can be found hereThere are no fees to be a Member School. 

CPFL Member Schools

School
Name
Email
The University of Texas at Austin
Brendon Bankey
brendonbankey@gmail.com
Missouri Valley College
David Bowers
bowersd@moval.edu
California State University - Northridge
Hunter Sansom
hunter.sansom.500@my.csun.edu
Cal State Fullerton
Max Bugrov
tuggdb@gmail.com
Saint Cloud State University
Scott Wells
sdwells@stcloudstate.edu
Vanderbilt University
M.L. Sandoz
ML.Sandoz@vanderbilt.edu
University of Minnesota
David Cram-Helwich
helwi012@umn.edu
University of Mary Washington
Adrienne Brovero
adri.debate@gmail.com
University of Kentucky
Dave Arnett
david.arnett@uky.edu
Texas A&M University
Brianna Byrd
aggies.deb8@gmail.com
Stanford University
Brian Manuel
bmanuel@stanford.edu
Simpson College
Spencer Waugh
spencer.waugh@simpson.edu
Idaho State University
Sarah T. Partlow Lefevre
partsara@isu.edu
Georgia Tech University
-
debateteam@gatech.edu
Foothill College
Steve Clemmons
clemmonssteven@fhda.edu
Arizona State University
Adam Symonds
asymonds@asu.edu
Gaming Team in Navy

Starting A Team

Register With Your University

Recruit Team Members

Register For A Tournament

Prepare For Competition

Attend Your First Tournament

The CPFL requires that all Member Schools receive permission from their University/College to compete. The first step to participating in CPFL competitions is to receive approval from your University administration.

In order to participate in CPFL competitions, you'll need students who want to debate! For help on recruiting, check out our resources here. Ensure you set up debate practices to help your team prepare together!

Once you have received University approval and recruited some debaters, it's time to register for a CPFL Tournament. Learn more about CPFL tournaments, here!

Now that you are signed up for a tournament, you need to prepare for competition! Research the topic, write speeches, engage in practice debates, and more. Utilize the CPFL free resources to help prepare for our tournaments, here!

The final step to starting a Debate Club is to attend your first debate tournament! Remember, while winning is fun - even showing up to the tournament is an accomplishment that you should be proud of!